BIOS boot settings

Post Reply
User avatar
Maxidyne
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 13999
Joined: 15 Mar 2012, 17:47
Has thanked: 7638 times
Been thanked: 4972 times

BIOS boot settings

Post by Maxidyne »

I have a question about the boot priority; is it important to make a certain sequence? I have (of course) on number 1 the main hard drive, and the rest is just random. So do you need to make certain boot sequence?
Image

Pig Pen: boy, these lonely long highways sure grind the souls of us cowboys. - Keep the bugs Image off’n your glass and the bears off’n your ass!

User avatar
CDMC
Admin
Admin
Posts: 21256
Joined: 01 Feb 2012, 06:42
Has thanked: 5931 times
Been thanked: 5956 times

Re: BIOS boot settings

Post by CDMC »

nope, it doesnt matter. just select your main OS drive as first and you're good to go :)
Image
Image

User avatar
Se7en
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 4829
Joined: 15 Mar 2012, 12:16
Has thanked: 1876 times
Been thanked: 2900 times
Contact:

Re: BIOS boot settings

Post by Se7en »

Well, yes and no.
If you already have a hard drive with OS installed on it, that HDD should be number one on the list. Why? If you, for example, have a CD drive set to one, Floppy disk to two and HDD to three, the BIOS sequence would have to go through both CD and Floppy drive first to scan for any media before reaching the HDD with the OS installed. So that would extend the boot time by a couple of seconds. If the HDD's already number one, rest of the drive sequence is not important.
I used to keep the HDD at the first spot always and if I need to boot off a CD, I just spam the boot drive selection key. :D
Image
“Every time I learn something new, it pushes some old stuff out of my brain.”

User avatar
CDMC
Admin
Admin
Posts: 21256
Joined: 01 Feb 2012, 06:42
Has thanked: 5931 times
Been thanked: 5956 times

Re: BIOS boot settings

Post by CDMC »

Se7en wrote:Well, yes and no.
If you already have a hard drive with OS installed on it, that HDD should be number one on the list. Why? If you, for example, have a CD drive set to one, Floppy disk to two and HDD to three, the BIOS sequence would have to go through both CD and Floppy drive first to scan for any media before reaching the HDD with the OS installed. So that would extend the boot time by a couple of seconds. If the HDD's already number one, rest of the drive sequence is not important.
I used to keep the HDD at the first spot always and if I need to boot off a CD, I just spam the boot drive selection key. :D
yep. more detailed explanation :D
Image
Image

User avatar
Maxidyne
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 13999
Joined: 15 Mar 2012, 17:47
Has thanked: 7638 times
Been thanked: 4972 times

Re: BIOS boot settings

Post by Maxidyne »

Thanks guys! If I re-install Windows I use a USB drive with the image file. And set it to boot first in the BIOS. Thanks for clearing it up Se7en, will leave it as it is.
Image

Pig Pen: boy, these lonely long highways sure grind the souls of us cowboys. - Keep the bugs Image off’n your glass and the bears off’n your ass!

User avatar
CDMC
Admin
Admin
Posts: 21256
Joined: 01 Feb 2012, 06:42
Has thanked: 5931 times
Been thanked: 5956 times

Re: BIOS boot settings

Post by CDMC »

if you use usb to install windows. boot from it and install windows in to a drive you want. after the install make sure the drive you installed OS is the first drive selected in the bios boot menu, and you're good to go
Image
Image

Post Reply

Return to “Questions/Tutorials”